How I cured my psoriasis

If you've been lucky to never experience psoriasis then just know, it's a frustrating dry skin condition. For so many people it's something we live with all our lives.


Many years ago this was the back of my neck. I lost all my hair on the base line and the the psoriasis started to creep up my neck to the front of my hairline. For any girl our hair is part of who we are so, for me, this was devastating. I would use every best selling; skin, hair and beauty product to try to manage the condition. I spoke to my doctor to try to find a magic cure but every lotion and potion just left me with no definitive answers on how to make it go away for good.

The first time I started to see any difference was over 12 years ago when I was following the Atkins diet. I felt great, like I had more energy. (This was before my car accident that led to Myalgic Encephalomyelitis) My skin started to improve over the month long diet. The Atkins diet restricts certain foods from the usual diet so my body started to respond to this. My hair started to grow back at the front of my hair line within two months and the itching really reduced on the back of my neck. I couldn't sustain the diet for more than 3 months back then so of course, my psoriasis came back with a vengeance.

Today psoriasis is more well known thanks to people like Kim Kardashian and Kylie Jenner who make public that they also suffer from the condition. When I was younger I felt ashamed and covered it up with heavy make up, this made the condition worse. These days it helps to know others, even those in the public eye, suffer themselves.

(Pics courtesy of daily mail.com)

Since changing my diet in the last four years I have noticed a significant change to my skin. Over the years I've adapted and developed my nutrition, not just for my fitness, but also for my health and beauty regimen. After reading lots of research on the types of food that affect skin and can cause skin disorders I also found out that there was also external factors which could be causing such a flareup of psoriasis at times. Lots of research goes to show that; caffeine, stress, lack of sleep, poor nutrition or high dietary sugars can cause psoriasis. Over the last few months I have been aiming to improve all these factors and I'm ecstatic to say my psoriasis has GONE!!

I understand how hard it is to deal with. I understand how it makes you feel with the flareups when you don't know why they happen. For me cutting out sugar, caffeine and keeping in check with my stress really has been key to the solution. I wouldn't advise anyone to undertake any radical changes in the diet until you spoken to a doctor, nutritionist or dietician. However, what I can tell you is there is hope things can change and I could not be more happy with the results. Changing your diet, making adaptations to your life and sticking with these is not for everyone but I have no intentions of going back because I'm so happy with my results.

If you or anyone you know suffers from psoriasis, I wish you every success to get rid of this.

About Miss Fox-Wolfpack Training

Certified Personal Trainer, Run Coach, Nutritionist & Sports Therapist dedicated to health & wellbeing.
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

