Are you sick & tired? 

I am a certified nutritionist and not a dietitian. I have no business writing food plans to suit anyone but what I can tell you is a diet rich in nutrients changes everything.

I thought years ago low fat foods and extreme diets would help me lose weight. Sometimes it did but I always piled the weight back on and more. My diet mainly consisted of hidden sugars, heavy simple carbs and rollercoaster weeks of healthy work days and unhealthy weekend binges. STOP! If this is you, enough already. It was such a waste of time and I got sick and felt tired all the time. And the worst part it when I was suffering the worst with Myalgic Encephalomyelitis it just made things so much harder.

The fact is everyone logically knows what's healthy and what's not but we don't always make the right choices. If you would like to have a more balanced diet here's what you need to know..

If it’s come from the ground with little or no changes you’re good to go. If it’s not wrapped in plastic, it’s less contaminated. When the fruit and veg smell good, the taste even better, check your items before you buy them.

If it’s advertised on TV, AVOID. If you cannot pronounce what’s in it, don’t eat it. If you don’t know what it actually is, don’t eat it. If it has microwave instructions, it has a low nutrient content.

Simple changes can be subtle and change spreads like wildfire. Using the excuse that ‘your family’ like certain unhealthy foods is pointless and cowardly. It’s an excuse you use to motivate yourself NOT to change. What your family really want is the best version of you in their lives for as long as possible. If you sit and eat a bowl of fruit without offering any to anyone and thoroughly enjoy it often enough BELIEVE ME the children will start asking. People always want what they can’t have. Giving the family just a tiny taste keeps them wanting more. Put one strawberry in their packed lunch, just one, let the magic happen. If you want more salad on your plates make it exciting. Veg and dips has endless options and home made dips with herbs and spices are tasty and nutritious. Let your taste buds explore and try a picnic tea for a change.

One of the biggest myths about weight loss and eating healthy is that we don’t know how to eat. We do, we just don’t want to and our habits are too hard to break. This is why a lot of nutritionists like me don’t do as many nutrition talks publicly. Now if you want to learn about macros, food combinations and the thermic effects of food, then book on to one of my seminars. The whole point for me being to teach you skills and information you didn’t know. Logically you know if you ate only the apples off the apple tree in your garden instead of buying them, imported from abroad all covered in pesticides, then you would be better off money wise as well as health wise. But how long before you get bored? Ok so here are endless apples recipes…still can’t stick to it? Then there’s way more problems behind it all.

For some of us, it’s not cigarettes, alcohol or drugs we are addicted to, it’s our problems. That quick, fast, nutrient lacking meal fills you up with all kinds of health problems that’s some of us just are not willing to give up. I know I watched a family member kill themselves and lie about it. We all have what’s known as cognitive dissonance, it’s what keeps us sane. It’s the brains way of processing information in a way we can accept. We know that sink holes exist but we can’t stay at home all day in fear of them so decide to accept there’s minimal chance we’ll one day get sucked into the earth crust by one. We know that cigarettes are bad, filled with nasty chemicals and they can cause cancer. When I smoked it was the only thing keeping me from running screaming from my office at work, grabbing my son from nursery on the way to the airport and running away abroad to live happily ever after. I knew that every time I bought a family sized chocolate bar, it was for me. I could try and convince myself it was for my son but sure enough bored o’clock would come about and out comes the chocolate binge fest. 

We lie to ourselves. Sink holes scare the bejeezus out of me. I watched a documentary about a women putting her washing on the line outside and before she could scream, she was 10 foot under. I know the chance is minimal but I’m still suspicious when I see pot holes in the road. Smoking made me a smelly disgusting mess. It was in my hair, my teeth, my clothes and it just wasn’t as glamorous as they make it look on the telly, ooh get you Dot Cotton. Nope. What I really liked was the slow deep breathing. You bet every break time I was focused on that smoky breath coming in and the stress of the office going out. Remove the fags and what do you have? Pranayama! So without the chocolate what do I have? Clothes that fit, a waist, a healthier child, body pride, more energy, less illness, less stress, more money. Any of those work for you?

In truth any of my experience may or may not help you make healthier choices but the point is, what effect would those choices have on you?

About Miss Fox-Wolfpack Training

Certified Personal Trainer, Run Coach, Nutritionist & Sports Therapist dedicated to health & wellbeing.
This entry was posted in General, Healthy mindset, Nutrition, Weight loss. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

