How to keep motivated

See there is where it gets difficult because people have motivation, in abundance. It’s just up to you how to use it and what it’s for. 

6 year ago I knew all the best take away deals, I knew exactly where to pick up my Caramel Frappuccino with extra cream, I was up to date with every soap on tv and I always had a bottle of wine in the fridge. I was 100% motivated and dedicated to my unhealthy lifestyle. I had the money to buy food with no nutritional value at all and I would over indulge because I didn’t know what macros meant, I had the time to watch every tv show I could and I knew the times and days they were on and I always made sure there was wine in the house for when it was ‘needed’.

Let me just flip that, I had the money to pay for a trainer/gym/class/fitness clothes, i had time to go for a walk/run/gym session/ class and I had the determination to make sure I got what I really needed. The fact it took me 30 years to work this out REALLY SUCKS! But also gives me a massive perspective of what to do for the next 30 years. 

What anyone who wants to go on this journey has to accept is that we have have choices and if you realise it or not, those are yours and your alone responsibility. I hold no judgement over no one but myself. How I treat myself is not how I expect anyone to be. My choices are what’s right for me and that’s for no one else to judge but myself. The facts are, my choices give me something too good to lose and that’s my motivation. 

The circle of the work and efforts I make pays off in way unimaginable. From someone with a history of accepting an entirety of ailments I barely suffer a sniffle once a year. My injury record is minor thanks to great safety techniques I’ve been taught. My sleep however is a wholey different story. Many years ago when I was ill I suffered such degrading sleep patterns it severely affected my mental health. My cognitive functioning was depleted and I could barely remember who I was or what I was doing. Today I aim to get the best I can, it’s not always possible but I strive for the best I can manage. After a good day of healthy food, fitness and dealing with stresses head on this is what happens.


Obviously I would need a full lab to asses the sleep properly but the result is I feel great. I feel energised. I feel less tired or groggy, more sharp and focused than I could ever imagine years ago. 

I was taught a while ago to think about my motivations and how I make the choices to get me where I am. The key is to accept that everything, every small step leads you to the bigger picture. What the bigger picture consists of, is up to you! 

About Miss Fox-Wolfpack Training

Certified Personal Trainer, Run Coach, Nutritionist & Sports Therapist dedicated to health & wellbeing.
This entry was posted in Fitness, Healthy mindset, Weight loss and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

